CITY OF ST. ALBERT



Legislation Text

File #: AR-20-183, Version: 1

TAMRMS#: B06

Appointment to Policing Committee

Presented by: Mayor Heron

RECOMMENDATION(S)

That ______ be appointed as a public member of the City of St. Albert Policing Committee for a term ending December 31, 2021.

(Procedural note: the name of the appointee not to be released publicly until read out by the Councillor making the motion)

PURPOSE OF REPORT

Due to a resignation, report is brought forward to fill a vacancy on the Policing Committee.

ALIGNMENT TO PRIORITIES IN COUNCIL'S STRATEGIC PLAN

N/A

ALIGNMENT TO LEVELS OF SERVICE DELIVERY

N/A

ALIGNMENT TO COUNCIL DIRECTION OR MANDATORY STATUTORY PROVISION

Section 11. of Policing Committee Bylaw 28/2017 provides that:

(1) If a voting member of the Committee resigns or otherwise ceases to be a member of the Committee before the end of the member's term of appointment, Council may appoint a resident of St. Albert as a replacement member. . .

(2) A replacement member referred to in subsection (1) shall serve the remainder of the departing member's term.

BACKGROUND AND DISCUSSION

File #: AR-20-183, Version: 1

In early 2020 Mr. Dion Tarkowski submitted his resignation as a member of the Policing Committee. Mr. Tarkowski was appointed to the Committee effective January 1, 2020 for a term ending December 31, 2021 and as a result of the resignation the above noted recommendation is being brought forward for Council's consideration.

STAKEHOLDER COMMUNICATIONS OR ENGAGEMENT

N/A

IMPLICATIONS OF RECOMMENDATION(S)

Financial: N/A

Legal / Risk: N/A

Program or Service: N/A

Organizational: N/A

ALTERNATIVES AND IMPLICATIONS CONSIDERED

If Council chooses not to fill the vacancy on the Policing Committee the Committee will consist of only five public members. Since a quorum for the Committee is five members, it is not recommended to leave the vacant position unfilled.

Report Date: June 1, 2020 Author(s): Cheryle Wong Committee/Department: Legal and Legislative Services Deputy Chief Administrative Officer: Kerry Hilts Chief Administrative Officer: Kevin Scoble