



Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: CB-21-006 Version: 1 Name:

Type: Committee Business Status: Agenda Ready

File created: 2/1/2021 In control: City Council

On agenda: 3/1/2021 Final action:

Title: Appointments to the Youth Advisory Committee

Presented by: Mayor Heron

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
3/1/2021	1	City Council	adopted	

TAMRMS#: B06

Appointments to the Youth Advisory Committee

Presented by: Mayor Heron

RECOMMENDED MOTION

1. That	and	be appointed as members of the City of St. Albert Youth
Advisor	y Committee for terms ending	December 31, 2021.

(Procedural note: the names of the appointees are not to be disclosed until read out by the Councillor making this Motion)

PURPOSE OF REPORT

Due to two resignations, this report is brought forward to fill two vacancies on the Youth Advisory Committee.

ALIGNMENT TO COUNCIL DIRECTION OR MANDATORY STATUTORY PROVISION

Section 7. of the Youth Advisory Committee Bylaw 41/2019 provides that:

Committee Members will be appointed for one (1) or two (2) year terms with a maximum of six (6) years of continuous service. If a Member vacates his or her membership on the Committee during that Members term, Council may appoint a replacement Member to serve for the remainder of the vacating Member's term.

File #: CB-21-006, Version: 1

BACKGROUND AND DISCUSSION

In December of 2020 Ms. K. Melancon and Ms. S. Lavrinenko submitted their resignations as members of the Youth Advisory Committee. These members had been appointed to the Committee effective January 1, 2020 for terms ending December 31, 2021 and as a result of the resignations, appointments of two new members to fill the remainder of the terms of the vacating members are brought forward for Council's consideration.

ALTERNATIVES AND IMPLICATIONS CONSIDERED

If Council chooses not to fill the vacancies on the Youth Advisory Committee, the Committee will consist of 12 public members.

Report Date: March 1, 2021 Author: Renee McDonald

Department: Legal and Legislative Services Deputy Chief Administrative Officer: K. Hilts Chief Administrative Officer: K. Scoble